Type: enum
Default: notice
Context: user
Restart: false
Values: [debug5, debug4, debug3, debug2, debug1, log, notice, warning, error]

Controls which message levels are sent to the client. Valid values are DEBUG5, DEBUG4, DEBUG3, DEBUG2, DEBUG1, LOG, NOTICE, WARNING, and ERROR. Each level includes all the levels that follow it. The later the level, the fewer messages are sent. The default is NOTICE. Note that LOG has a different rank here than in log_min_messages.

INFO level messages are always sent to the client.


Unless doing interactive debugging, then you want it set to DEBUG1-5. If you have a client application which is confused by some of PostgreSQL's WARNINGs then you may want to set this to ERROR.